peugeot forums, peugeot Information,Peugeot Photos, Peugeot Reviews
Peugeot Central
Peugeot Central :: View topic - 53-plate 307 won't start...

Peugeot Central Forum Index >> Peugeot 307 forum >> 53-plate 307 won't start...
View previous topic - View next topic
53-plate 307 won't start...

fortherestless

On the Grid On the Grid
What Peugeot do you own?: 307
How did you find Peugeot Central?: Google

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan, 2008 10:14 pm Reply with quote
Hello...newbie here. I've had a quick look and can't seem to find mention of a similar problem, so here goes...

I've got a 53-plate 307SE Auto. It's got 26k on the clock and to date has never had any mechanical or electrical failure. This evening, went to start it and it cut out straight away. Strange, never done that before, but I just turned the ignition off and tried again, but nothing doing. It won't even start, the starter motor sounds ok but the engine wont turn over at all. Also, after a few seconds the display on the middle of the dash says "Passenger airbag deactivated", I haven't deactivated it. I've only given it another couple of tries but to no avail. It's a cold evening but I've never had a problem with cold starts before, even after it's sat in snow for a week.

I'm not at all technical and have no idea how stuff under the bonnet works but just wondered if anyone has seen this problem before, or has any ideas what it is. And crucially, will it be expensive?!

Any info gratefully received, looks like I'll be giving my mechanic a ring tomorrow...  Sad
Advertisement
PeugeotCentral.co.uk
Advertisement
Re: 53-plate 307 won't start...

Mr_Cellexe

Deluxe Deluxe
Joined: Jul 04, 2007 Posts: 1966 Location: Hertfordshire Posts Left: 3
What Peugeot do you own?: 206

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan, 2008 9:55 am Reply with quote
could be a failure of the airbag/s. when these go 'off' they need to be reset (as the car thinks it's been in a collision).